Arnie Co Nonet

Jazz has long been dominated by the big band and the combo – your average household jazz names might include the big bands of Count Basie and Duke Ellington, or combos like the Miles Davis Quintet or Art Blakey and the Jazz Messengers – but the lesser-known “chamber jazz ensemble” has long held a unique place in jazz, despite its rarity.

In a sense the chamber jazz ensemble has functioned as a bridge between the two popular settings of jazz bands, requiring the efficient part-writing of a big band and also demanding the individuality and tight interplay of a jazz combo. Additionally, this setting lends to the band a wide array of colors and textures that a big band may have, and the freedom and spontaneity that smaller groups enjoy. You might have heard this style of playing and arranging in groups like Count Basie’s “Kansas City 7,” Gil Evans’ work with Miles Davis’ “Birth of the Cool” Nonet, the modern progressive nonets of Walt Weiskopf and Alan Ferber, and many more.

The Arnie Co Nonet is a chamber jazz ensemble that features rising musicians from all around the Bay Area, and looks to celebrate the unique sounds of chamber jazz ensembles old and new through original compositions and arrangements of great tunes in the jazz idiom.


  • Reunion (by Gigi Gryce, arr. Alan Ferber) 0:24

  • The Inner Circle 10:03

  • Her Garden (by John Shifflett, arr. Arnie Co) 16:58

  • I Wish I Knew (by Warren/Gordon, arr. Arnie Co) 27:50

  • Beaver Song (by Chris Motter) 0:13

  • Tuesday Night Squad (by Soulive, arr. Nathan Tao) 7:35

  • ’Til the Cows Come Home 16:15

  • Lucky’s Number (by Alan Ferber) 22:28

  • In Her Eyes 28:28

  • I’m Coming Home (by Christian McBride) 33:40 


Nathan Tao (tpt), Ryan Proch (as), Gavin Halloran (ts), Phineas Crisp (tbn), Brittany Biala (bari), Chris Motter (gt), Arnie Co (pn), Nick Panoutsos (b), Gabe Lee (d)